Human Connection

Steve Douglas
6 min readJan 1, 2023

Preface:

Upon self-reflection and conclusion, I am closing this year by providing context on why I put this content into the world. In summary, I did this so that others may read my experience and know that we all have challenges, no matter how unique, traditional, and/or different we are. No matter how life humbles you (as it will every one of us at multiple points in our lives), don’t stop going. Even if you slow down to a crawl, as I have many times in my life, do not stop, as starting again will be a much heavier experience than slowing down based on the undesirable pain that life at times has to offer. Focus on never stopping, no matter how difficult.

I attended a private school for the majority of my educational career in all the countries where I grew up. In about 5th grade, we were doing a lesson on history and geography. When we reviewed a couple of places in our textbook, the teacher asked what we imagined these places would be like now in contrast to the time of the historical events we were studying. So when my teacher came over to see what each child was thinking, I told her quietly that I had been to most of the places we were studying (like Jerusalem, Rome, other places in Europe, etc.). My teacher immediately looked at me in condescension and said, “God doesn’t like liars.” In her defense, she was completely unaware of my mother or father’s professions, our abnormally…

--

--

Steve Douglas

Steve is a Canadian polymath whose pro music career officially began at age 4 when he performed live @ Wembley Stadium. His focus = tangibly benefiting youth.